Tags

, , , , ,

 

My Current Mascara hotpicks

Today I thought I’d share with you my current favourite top 3 mascara’s.  Just before I announce the finalists I thought I’d share with you my credentials as a mascara judge. 

I have always had short, sparse and thin lashes and unusually for my dark hair and brown eyes really fair lashes. Currently they are improving (see the Revitalash post ) but are far from the bambi inspired eyebrow reachers I long for.  So ever since I was 12 or 13 I have never been a day in my life without at least 3 coats of mascara applied. 3 coats on me looks perfectly natural and if I want a false lash effect for going out I can go up to 6, 7, 8 coats!

I will also point out I am a contact lense wearer and none of these have bothered me.

So I go through a lot of mascara from a lot of different brands (always black) and here are my current favourites and they all come with my seal of approval!

In third place :

Max Factor 2000 Calorie Mascara : A great budget buy that beats some of the best names. Does everything you want at a barganous price and easily available on the high street. It volumises, it lengthens, it thickens but still keeps quite a natural look. Very easy to build up layers without going clumpy. The wand can bring out a lot of product though so be careful and it does take a few minutes to dry properly and set – so no sneezing just after application!

Second! :

Mally Volumising Mascara : A newer find for me this is a great mascara from Mally Cosmetics again it lengthens, thickens, creates volume and definition all with a coat or two. I build up 3 or 4 coats with no problems and really like the effect I get ( no more coats than this though as your lashes will start to stick together). Lasts all day with no flaking and a great really dark black. I have heard this can dry out in the tube if you take too long using it but I get through all mascaras in 2 / 3 months and have not noticed this problems myself. Harder to get hold of in the UK but QVC are stockists ( remember my QVC motto – you can try it and return it if it’s not for you !)

And finally my winner ( by a whisker or should I say an eyelash (ha ha )) :

YSL False Lash effect mascara : Longer fuller fatter. A must have for eyelashes everywhere.  No clumping no flaking. This does top my league and has done for a while –whatever flirtations I may have this is the product I will always come back to . Brings me one step closer to Bambi, my fairytale Disney ending in a little gold tube.

Hope that has inspired you to try a new brand. Let me know your favourites as I am always on the market for a new recommended mascara.

X

 

