Tags

, , , , ,

Today I am sharing with you a regular item in my beauty regime (and I do say regime over routine as I stick to my beauty habits so religiously every day with military like discipline – my husband cannot understand that no matter how much I moan I’m tired I still carry out the same 30mins process before bed day in day out without fail!)

Anyways back to the product in question – Liz Earle’s deep cleansing clay mask. I love this product and use it once per week (Sunday morning) and even if I stop to test another product I always go back to it. I think it seems to really clean out my pores and help with the occasional oiliness I can get on my forehead. It has never left my skin dry even when I have accidentally left it on for 20mins longer than recommended! It also has never resulted in creating spots (which some clay cleansing masks do do, which, don’t get me wrong is great for occasional use but too much for regular).

Normally I apply to my whole face, and if I do have a breakout of spots or if the hot weather makes my skin oiler that normal I just apply as an extra application mid-week to the areas required.

I even recommended this to my sister who has quite sensitive skin as she was suffering from lots of little under the skin bumps (I believe from sun cream). This cleared up her skin and she uses every couple of weeks now. Please do bear in mind though that Liz Earle website does state this isn’t for sensitive skin so proceed with caution. (John Lewis does stock Liz Earle so maybe head down and see if they will give you a sample to try….)

I will say this is one mask you will not want to answer the door in – sort of sludgy grey/green in colour. Also I’m not overwhelmingly keen on the smell but I have never found a clay mask I like the smell of and it isn’t overpowering.

Also it lasts for ages – I have been using on and off (mostly on) every week for maybe 2 years now but only on my second tube. I also think it is very reasonably priced at £14.00 (including facial sponge).

Liz Earle states this is a solution for “oily, combination and problem-prone skin” (I agree but would add normal skin to the list if not used excessively). Their description of “this highly concentrated clay and manuka honey mask helps draw out impurities and excess oil to leave skin balanced and calm” describes the product down to a T as far as I’m concerned.

The manuka honey in this product is to sooth, the green clay to draw out impurities and the geranium to help tone and balance the skin.

I will actually do a post on Liz Earle in general soon as I am a massive fan of her and her brand so I will share that with you all. And this magic product is my favorite of her range full stop. End of story. Go forth and buy it now  🙂

To end with, if you are interested I have included information direct from Liz Earle’s website regarding the active ingredients in this particular product and why they are  there. (She does use very active ingredients and essentials oils – I like to know what makes a product work). Also if you have an allergy you can check – full ingredients list available on Liz Earle website.

Geranium Essential Oil (Pelargonium graveolens)

This essential oil provides a wonderfully uplifting fragrance. Pelargonium graveolens, known as rose-scented geranium has a powerful rose-like odour. This luxurious oil is most commonly used in aromatherapy for its toning and balancing properties.

Aloe Vera (Aloe barbadensis)

The gel found in this cactus-like plant’s fat juicy fronds contain active ingredients to help cool, soothe and soften the skin. Aloe vera has been used for more than 6000 years to treat a variety of skin ailments, including sunburn, blisters and burns.

Glycerin

The glycerin we use is always vegetable derived. It is a humectant (attracts water), drawing atmospheric water onto the skin to aid hydration.

Propolis (Propolis wax)

Propolis is a mixture of resins from the bark and buds of trees collected by bees to protect their hives. It has skin protecting properties and leaves the skin feeling soothed.

Manuka Honey (Mel)

Manuka honey is produced by bees that have collected pollen from the flowers of manuka bushes. It is a beneficial addition to treatment masks as it is soothing and calming on the skin.

White Clay (Montmorillonite)

This super-fine powder helps absorb excess sebum on the skin and draw out embedded impurities.

